Salmon Fishing in the Yemen

July 11, 2012 § 5 Comments

Watched Salmon Fishing in the Yemen two nights ago. What can I say, I have not felt such joy and pleasure watching a film for months! Family senior warned me as we sat down to watch it – let us not expect anything from this film, it appears a bit on the ‘moody’ side (a peculiar word to describe a film, I agree) and the IMDB score is not great, but we both absolutely loved it! I laughed so hard at times I had tears running down my cheeks, what an amazing feeling to feel so liberated, so relieved – not even sure why it felt so relieving to watch it? – so…so….happy. Yes, happy. Happy to listen and understand the words spoken and the words unsaid, happy that there are people out there who see a purpose in making these films, happy to see how beautiful people are, really really radiantly beautiful with their quirks and habits, and their desire to love and be loved.

I highly recommend this film to anyone looking to have a nice evening on the sofa. Do let me know what you think of Patricia Maxwell instant messaging the Prime Minister. The scenes had me in stitches.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Salmon Fishing in the Yemen

  • jocelynr says:

    Oh yay! a movie recommendation!! we’re so out of it down here that i have NO idea what’s worth watching. We’ll have to download this one and check it out.

    And, by the way, i love your wordpress theme. Is it the theme that adds the “Leave a Comment” at the bottom of every post? handy.

    You always did have a way with words Julija. I’m liking the chance to read them again. Thanks for sharing your blog with us.

    • biblepanic says:

      Ah good to hear! We watch loads of movies, what else can one do exhausted from running around all day 😦 Yes, I think this is a Manuscript theme or something like that. I like how clean it looks.

  • lapai says:

    I highly recommend the book. A pleasure to read.

  • twictor says:

    I loved this movie too bits! 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Salmon Fishing in the Yemen at bible panic.

meta

