Old Things

July 27, 2012 § 4 Comments

Before

I have a habit of going through the charity shops in our neighbourhood on Saturdays. I do not take pleasure in shopping and am one to feel trapped by the hangers and the rows of clothes and things, the favourite things of all these people. It gives me great angst to see more than 2 pages of items on on-line shops usually prompting me to close the browser completely. But I do appreciate browsing through charity shops and pay them a visit as often as I can. This is the latest item I brought home.

It is different with old things for me. It is like we speak a common language, that of textures and smells, and colours. Always colours. The faded wallpaper foliage remembering the days of sun and passion, the melting navy ornaments like those wild blueberries deep down in the wild woods demanding patience and dexterity, the piercing crimson, a pool of a dead animal’s warm blood on a cold safari night.

These objects speak to me in symbols and images I am too poor to understand, yet there is something they cary in their shapes and sizes that signifies piece and stability to me. They have endured the hours. They have been there to see the end. They are not always items to marvel at but at the same time, items I cannot take my eyes off once I spot them. And so I know they will be leaving with me. I take them, greedily, not dissimilar to the manner Gargantua took food and drink and made it his body, but ever so slightly less vulgar. I am a civilised creature and as such realise so very well the temperament of these things. They are here to outlive and so they attract the weaker link, the one that will make them survive.

This tiny cabinet found home in our bathroom of all places. It is meant to stay there. After a generous application of oil, I feel we are now tied. Tied by our efforts to serve.

After

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Old Things

  • jocelynr says:

    It’s amazing to me how something so inexpensive here – bamboo furniture – becomes so valuable in other locales because of their uniqueness.

    It’s a lovely shelf. Very ‘tropical’. 🙂

    I also love to visit charity shops in Canada. Here, not as much as it’s more of a public market. It’s so flip-flopped in this area of the world. Where charity shops are less prevalent in Canada compared to ‘new’ shops, here it’s the shops that sell new things that are difficult to find… except if you’re looking for new things made on-site. Like a bamboo funiture piece. 🙂 I do enjoy finding treasures amidst the piles (literally) of cast-offs (boots and shoes, clothing, fabric, you name it!) that can find a new life with a bit of TLC in my own home.

    • twictor says:

      awww – grazu! zmogus daiktams tarsi siela – o sendaiktciai tarsi prisilietimas ar mazytis kazkieno gyvenimo juntamas antspaudas! galbut delto ir mane traukia tavo naujas radinys! miss you!

    • biblepanic says:

      Tropical indeed, i wonder how it ended up in this part of the world. I was drawn to it for it size most – it is so small, compact, to get a cabinet of this size at a shop would be a true mission and it would cost me at least 4 times what i paid.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Old Things at bible panic.

meta

