Insight School of Art

April 28, 2013 § Leave a comment

 

Lady eating paper

Lady eating paper

I think the lady is actually licking the envelope to seal her letter in. I am not sure who the artist of it is but I hope they don’t mind me posting it here since I took the snap in the communal toilets.

Junior started proper art classes yesterday at the Insight School of Art in New Barnet and I am mega excited about the fact she will be spending an hour and a half each Saturday there. Just look at the 6-12 year old drawings, are they for real?! I cannot wait to see how she progresses in 12 weeks – I hear they will have an exhibition of her work at the end of the term and the parents will probably get to take all the art work home (note to self: invest in some really nice frames, OK OK she is only 6!).

The very beginning

The very beginning

Ever since she was little, she had an eye for the world – watching people, watching things around her, pausing the cartoons we played on the laptop for her to go get out a piece of paper so she could draw what she saw, so I am hoping these classes will not only inspire her to get better and work on her skills but show her all the different ways to capture the beauty around her, something I am sadly incapable of doing as I could not draw if my life depended on it. I guess my motives for wanting her to like the school are selfish: I just wish that whatever path she choses to take later in life, she does not end up sitting in an air-conditioned office staring at the monitor for 8 hours a day. And if she does, that she has the stamina and the deep enough pool of dreams to carry her through that into the days that are bright and filled with happiness.

To wrap this up, a little note on New Barnet – on the scale from 1 to 5, how dodgy would you say it is? We were offered to buy drugs while walking to Sainsbury’s having left junior at the school. Just your regular Saturday stroll up the road.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Insight School of Art at bible panic.

meta

