Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

May 12, 2013 § 3 Comments

“I met an old lady once, almost a hundred years old, and she told me, ‘There are only two questions that human beings have ever fought over, all through history. How much do you love me? And Who’s in charge?” – Elizabeth Gilbert. 

eat_pray_love_xlg

It is rare for me to read a what I regard as a (very) easy read and want to write down so many quotes from it. Reading Eat Pray Love I felt like I wanted to copy down a sentence from every page I was staring at and I chose the word carefully. I read, but I also looked at the words in front of me from an intensely personal point of view. I would probably even go as far as say that I would recommend this book to any divorcee, any single lady friend of mine, or any wife happily unhappy in her marriage. It is a book essentially about the three most important things in life – eating, praying and loving. And I suppose you could say that depending on the stage of life you are at, you might just as well be going through all of these rivers all at once, or swimming through your love phase right now. Whichever it is, take pleasure in it, naked, carnal pleasure in the things you eat, the things you lay your eyes on, the people you happen to meet on your way to that party, the contents of your heart that you decide to bring out and leave in those hands and eyes…when I think about it and I do really try not to think about it too much unless my heart tightens and I struggle to breath, I look at myself then and remember that these are the only moments that matter. This was really when I was happy.

I am delighted I read this book despite the boring and pointless film which I do not recommend anyone watching. And perhaps I will forget it as I have forgotten many other unexpectedly influential texts in my life but for now, I want to keep Elizabeth’s voice near my heart, perhaps not in it, but near it, to remind me, that everything is going to be fine, that I will come out of this forest and that whenever it feels like I am getting myself into a car crash after car crash of car crashes (those tempting speedboats of anger, fear and hatred), that is when things really happen and that is when I will move forward but only if I make the right choices in how I want to think and be with and to the people I love. With or without God, loved or tormented by those two stalker-ish brothers Depression and Loneliness, we all have to go through our hells and heavens on our own. And I will walk this road, and I will come out better.

“Ruin is a gift. Ruin is the road to transformation.”

 

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert

  • aycorundum says:

    I also loved the book. When I read the words… “I don’t want to be married” or something to that extent. I understood. Now that could be because I was going through a divorce myself but it totally made sense. I really held her experience high in my head when I asked myself…. what do you want to do today… everyday and started making my life built for me and not for what I was supposed to have/do/be.

    • biblepanic says:

      I agree, some things simply make sense the moment you read them. A lot of the book resonated with me. I have totally forgotten to reply to this comment and have only now come across it! Shame on me. It’s not an easy journey to start – on your own, having supposedly ruined another person’s life, but from what I have seen of life so far, some things just happen and there is no way back. Planning and being a good person does not guarantee anything at all.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert at bible panic.

meta

