Camino St Paul’s

May 20, 2013 § Leave a comment

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 22.04.58

We have a lovely tradition in the office to go for random half-team-half-stranger lunches which last for much longer than lunch should. Camino opened it’s fourth (?) Spanish tapas place this time near Blackfriars and with a 50% discount on food, we decided it’s as good as any reason to go and have lunch there.

I am not really in a mood to rave about food here which was not bad at Camino, no, but not amazing either – it arrived on little saucers, which we were expecting, slowly, one little saucer at a time. It got better later on once the waiting staff realised which table has ordered what; the wine and the sangria’s were amazing (said in a Cate Blanchett voice) and the entire look and the feel of the place was inspiring. I could not find a half decent picture of the one we were at, so here is a little taster of Bar Pepito in King’s Cross:

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 22.02.01

Salivating at the tiles yet? I am.

OK, back to the food which was how do I describe it…tempting, sensuous and for the lack of a better word – momentarily exciting. I say momentarily because having left the place I felt a rather unpleasant aftertaste that you get having eaten food less than fresh, perhaps it was the oil that was used one too many times. In any case, whatever it was, it slightly ruined it for me.

But I must write something good about it, must I not? The size of the portions created a fairy tale like atmosphere in my tiny table space. Yes, it is tapas, but still, it reminded me of the doll’s house miniatures (if only a slightly ethnic dolls house with clay pots and dishes and ramekins in alluring copper, raw umber, ochre and auburn), everything was in such perfect miniature, it felt slightly surreal, in particular my two golf ball sized pieces of monkfish on the oil mash, having seen which I wished this was not a tapas place and I could order this in adult/proper portion size. Shame I did not take a picture of it when it arrived, but here is a small corner of the rest which looks kind of gigantic in this picture when it really was not:

photo 2-1

We ate, we drank, we paid….50% discount on food got our bills down to just over £100, with the drinks coming at above £130 I would say this is probably the priciest lunch I have had in London so far considering half of the lunchers complained of being hungry when we got back to the office. Do go if you are near or around St Paul’s but have a credit card to hand.

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Camino St Paul’s at bible panic.

meta

