Les Miserables

May 31, 2013 § 2 Comments

Les Miserables

Les Miserables

I feel like I have neglected my Films category and did not post any comments on really good films I have watched recently like the Intouchables (I have Amour and the Impossible to watch still) which was simply brilliant.

I had nothing to do one evening and so I watched Les Miserables – the most bizarre film I have watched in a very long time. Why? Why the singing?! Tuneless singing?! No, I correct myself, good singing, in tune it was, but some songs were so ….weird…I don’t know where to put them! Such a tragic story, I felt it was diminished to the soap opera level by the repeated look down, look down. The singing really did not go with anything in the movie, so why was is there?

I am not a big fan of musicals but I did enjoy the Moulin Rouge, Chicago and Rocky Horror Picture Show of course and the Sound of Music, by all means, but this I honestly do not know which shelf to leave this on – costume drama tragedy slash musical?! . I finished it, I watched it in chunks but as I did not like it that much, I am afraid that is all I will say.

Oh and I did not cry and I cry at just about everything.

I will leave you, my dear readers, with a question:

Why is Eponine’s arms so oversized compared to her photoshoped (?) stomach?

Les Miserables

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Les Miserables

  • Clare says:

    As an adaptation of the stage show I felt it was done very well, much better than some movie musicals. I enjoyed most of the performances. The notable exception being Russell Crowe as Javert. However, I am judging it against a show which I have seen many times, know very well and enjoy. I have no idea if I would enjoy it if I had read the book rather than seen the show. Certainly not everyone’s cup of tea!

    • biblepanic says:

      Ah I actually enjoyed watching Russell Crowe as Javert 🙂 Unusual for him to play a character like Javert, I think I believed him. The singing I struggled to appreciate but I was pleasantly surprised with how beautiful the voices of Amanda Seyfried and Anne Hathaway were. Hugh Jackman was a bit disappointing in his attempts to express suffering, pain, and fear.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Les Miserables at bible panic.

meta

