Watching love in Rust and Bone

August 2, 2013 § Leave a comment

rust-and-bone-585x390

 

Beautiful hopelessness is a phrase that sprung to mind as I was watching Rust and Bone. Raw, bare, fragile, life at it’s ugliest with characters so unsympathetic and real that I did wonder for a moment if I knew them. And then you fall in love with them, with their wounds and their weaknesses and their damaged selves. You fall in love with the love they feel. I caught myself on a number of occasions wondering what I would do if hunger or death was starting at my face, would I have the strength in me to reinvent my life, my dreams? To love again?

I struggle to pick the right words to describe the emotions I felt watching Rust and Bone – Despair? Disgust? Admiration? Fear? Notice the outweighing negative adjectives and yet the film itself was pleasant and cathartic, not for a moment did I wonder ‘how much more to go’. And I think, it is love, it is love that does it – despite the damp and bloody environment, despite the pain and the loss, the horrid father and son relationship, its there, tangible. And you really cannot take your eyes off it. I was so impressed by the film that I would take away the Palme d’Or from Amour to give it to Rust and Bone. I would.

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Watching love in Rust and Bone at bible panic.

meta

