Princesses and Goblins

October 17, 2013 § Leave a comment

princess

“Here I should like to remark, for the sake of princes and princesses in general, that it is a low and contemptible thing to refuse to confess a fault, or even an error. If a true princess has done wrong, she is always uneasy until she has had an opportunity of throwing the wrongness away from her by saying: ‘I did it; and I wish I had not; and I am sorry for having done it.” 
― George Macdonald, The Princess and the Goblin

I must begin by saying that when I finished the book, I felt immense sadness – I felt damaged and broken before I began and even more so when I finished reading the book. I feel too old and too dirty to take in such high morals and high standards as described by the author into my heart when I know very well that real life is nothing like that. That people do wrong and people refuse to confess a fault, and life goes on regardless. And nothing as simple as a kiss.

There is nothing much more I could say really, except that my conviction to live a moral life, an honest and simple life, is stronger than ever these days. Funny how reading about lives like that is a bit of a struggle.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Princesses and Goblins at bible panic.

meta

